dilemma..

This may sound like a strange reason to get upset, but if there is no chocolate on your cappaccino, is it reasonable to complain?

Let me put this into (a bit of) context.  It was a cold morning, the start of a long day, I had slept in and was running late, no chance for my ‘first in the morning’ coffee, and so called in the local cafe on the way to work to pick up a take out fix of warm caffeine and chocolaty goodness.  I eagerly anticipated the first sip, sniffed the drink and was assailed by the delicious smell, and then was disappointed to find out that what I class as a major component of the drink, the chocolate sprinkly topping, was missing!

Now, for me, that topping is an essential part of a cappaccino, if it’s not there, aren’t you essentially just drinking a latte??

I did point this out, rather indignantly, and to their credit, the guys in the shop (part of a chain) have offered to look into the lack of sprinkles, however I could feel the eyes of the queue staring into the back of my head as I thanked them, and as a parting shot told them that their own poster advertising the drink showed a drink with sprinkles.

So, my dilemma, was I right to complain?  and would it be going too far to email their head office to complain?  or am I right to make a stand, and insist that if I order a caapaccino, then am I within my rights to demand chocolate sprinkles?  watch this space….

 

  1. #1 by Sean Graham on November 11, 2011 - 3:15 pm

    You should complain to the head office if they didn’t resolve your problem outright. You have rights that fall under the Trade Descriptions Act and if they were advertising the cappuccino with cocoa via a photo, yet failed to deliver what was presented, well, you could deem this as misleading.

    I would say approach the complaints department and if you don’t get a decent resolution then ask them to escalate the problem to their managers. When it meets the managerial level they are more likely to be compliant. I would assume you will at least receive some vouchers from your poor experience.

Leave a Reply

